My IceWM Setup

July 20, 2006 at 3:11 pm | Posted in tips and tricks, xubuntu | 2 Comments

I’ve been getting questions about my setup, so I’ll cover it in more detail:

1) If you’d like my configuration, download this file to your home folder: icewm.tar.gz. Untar it, and you’re good to go.

2) .xinitrc: This controls what programs load up when you log in. Create a file in your home directory named .xinitrc and paste in the following:

#!/bin/sh

xcompmgr -CcFf &
xscreensaver -nosplash &
ivman-launch &
icewm-session

Save the file, and exit. Make sure the file is executable (run chmod +x .xinitrc).

(You can also use ~/.icewm/startup: just delete the line icewm-session from the file.)

3) Using my login automatically guide, I changed the line startxfce4 to startx in my .bash_profile file. This, along with .xinitrc, automatically logs me into IceWM.

If you’re using my configuration files, make sure to also do Step 5 (Rebooting and shutting down without a password).

4) My wallpaper is Ubuntu Glass. I scaled it down to 1024×768 using the GIMP.

5) My beep-media-player theme is Dapper Orange – BMP, and my Opera theme is Dapper.

Hope this helps anyone who is interested in my setup!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I was wondering where in xubuntu’s conf files I could change the screensaver to nothing. Problem is that I’m tweaking an old ATI Radeon 9000 All-in-wonder, and whenever I try to chagne the screensaver settings, it bombs out the enitre system, becasue the OpenGL renedering isn’t setup right. So, long and short, I can’t turn off the screensaver through the normal method, b/c it actually tries to render the default ss in the preview window, and therefore bombs.
    Any ideas?
    thanks!

  2. i cant download your icewm.tar.gz!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

