Long time no post

July 9, 2007 at 10:27 am | Posted in xubuntu | 11 Comments

It’s been exactly one year since I posted my first post here at Xubuntu Blog. It had ran for a few months, until the updates simply stopped. There are many reasons for this:

Lack of content: I had simply started to run out of ideas. I wanted constant updates, but I didn’t want half of them to be useless and uninformative. Sadly, that is, IMO, what started to happen.
Lack of Xubuntu-related content: I had always wanted to focus on Xubuntu-related material. However, it was getting to the point where for each post about Xubuntu there were two or three non-related posts. I had always wanted to remain consistent, but was starting to lose my focus. This ties in with the point above.
Overwork: It had come to the point where updating this was a chore. Everyday I thought of something to post on the blog, and posted it regardless of whether it was good or not. I decided to take a break and come back with a less rigid posting routine. That, of course, took a lot longer than I expected.

I felt a sense of community when working on this site, and I’d like to bring that back. In an attempt to become even more community-oriented, I welcome anybody with a WordPress account to offer help in any way they can. If you write how-tos, just post a comment showing some of your example how-tos and you can get the chance to become a contributor at Xubuntu Blog. I understand that there are a lot of Xubuntu users out there that know even more than I do, and with your help the updates can stay constant without tiring me. Eventually, this site can once again become one of the top Xubuntu resources.

It doesn’t need to stop at how-tos, either. Even helping in typos, incorrect information, etc. is appreciated. Reader Simanek has given me an updated logo, which is a lot less pixellated (blame WordPress for that), and I thank him for it.

So now I’m back and with a fresh start. The updates probably won’t be as constant as they used to be, but they will come around every now and then.

Til then, keep reading.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I don’t have anything much to contribute, but it’s good to see you back.🙂

  2. You’ve got competition😛

    I maintain Xubuntublog.wordpress.com (dammit I wanted this domain😛 ) but perhaps we could figure something out to collaborate.

  3. Awesome. I’ve been running Xubuntu since 6.06 and enjoy each new release. Good to see that this blog is back! Dedicated Xubuntu users are few, and it’s always good to get together and share tips and ideas.

  4. Hey Vincent,

    nice site you got there! I definiately like the Request a Post idea. I think collaborating would be a great idea at this point, so that people don’t have to bookmark two different sites. Would it be possible to combine the two blogs into one? If not, then perhaps you can just post your newer posts here.

  5. Ah, you’re talking about a complete merge? Hmm.. Well, I got to think about that. Of course, it is a logical option. But on the other hand… The feeling of having “my own blog” is cool too. Plus, the focus of mine is really on “tips ‘n tricks”, like what Ubuntu Blog was. However, I sometimes also have some rants or just news updates about Xubuntu that I refrain from posting since they do not match “tips ‘n tricks”, or are not important enough for Xubuntu.org, which I would be willing to post at yours if you think they’re appropriate.

  6. You make a good point with “your own blog”, it is confusing as to what to do at this point. Rants and news updates are welcome here too, anything Xubuntu-related is fine by me.

  7. Well, I just saw this post, which could come in handy. You could assign me a contributor role and then whenever I make a post you I’ll click “Submit For Review” so you can check if the post is appropriate.

  8. It is nice to see you posting again!!🙂

    Maybe you could talk about some of the discussion/issues tackled on the xubuntu-users and xubuntu-devel mailing lists and IRC chat room? I see quite a bit of inspiration there. For example, your next post might be about the cd/dvd burner issue, the possible solutions, your ideas about it, etc. Since this is a blog, not only could you post how-tos, and the what not, but also gossip-type like posts about general Xubuntu happenings and discussions.

  9. Welcome aboard, Vincent😀

  10. Thank you😀

    Btw, you don’t mind if I also post some of it in Dutch on Digiplace.nl, do you?

  11. I don’t mind at all! The more readers that can read it, the better.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

