Gvtray: A volume control for your system tray

August 15, 2007 at 12:39 pm | Posted in programs, tips and tricks | 15 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


this guide is no longer necessary IMO. I’ve solved my volume control problems by dragging the Volume Control plugin from the item list to the panel. Simple, but it works.

I have problems with the default Volume Control plugin in Xubuntu, so this is a useful solution. It displays the volume percent, and can be turned up or down using the mousewheel.

1) First, open up the terminal and get the necessary programs:

sudo apt-get install python-alsaaudio python-gnome2-extras
wget http://gtk-tray-utils.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/gvtray-1.1.tar.gz

2) Extract gvtray-1.1.tar.gz and go into the newly created directory:

tar -xvf gvtray-1.1.tar.gz
cd gvtray-1.1

3) Run all of the following commands:

sudo mkdir /usr/share/gvtray
sudo cp gvtray /usr/bin
sudo cp gvtray.py /usr/share/gvtray/
sudo cp -r gvtray_about/ /usr/share/gvtray/gvtray_about

4) Now test it out:


And there it is, a volume control in the system tray. You will get an error message in the terminal; just ignore it.

Hope this program is useful!


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Could you tell us what was wrong with the default Volume Control panel item?
    What are gvtray’s advantages?

  2. I have a detailed Launchpad report of it all here:


    Quite simply, it doesn’t load. And every time it does, it never does again. The advantage to gvtray is that it…well, loads. ;)

  3. :D
    I see.
    Well, I guess I don’t need it then. :)

  4. You may not, but another advantage is that it can be used in IceWM/Openbox :D

  5. nice :)

  6. I am very underwhelmed by gvtray. It took me a while to get it installed (because I was missing the python-gnome2-extras package), and the interface is pretty ugly.

    I have my Thinkpad’s media keys mapped to amixer set Master x+/- and gvtray does not recognize that the volume has changed when I press the media keys (but at least it does change volume on mouse wheel).

    I ended up installing Gnome’s volume control applet via xfapplet. It’s still not great, because I can’t see fine grained volume level information (how do Gnome users even begin to put up with this stuff?), but it’s still a step above gvtray.

  7. It’s slick, but sound still doesn’t work.

  8. Just what I needed — and very easy to follow instructions! Appreciated!

  9. I’m trying it, as I have trouble with sound on my ThinkPad R60 and it might help to try something new – sometimes my sound works poorly, sometimes not at all. And I wondered where the heck the volume control was.

    But 27.6 MB extra space required? (first step). Seems a lot for a volume control…?

  10. 27.6? Mine comes to about 4. Maybe you should try it without python-gnome2-extras?

  11. I did everything described above for my Xubuntu but I don’t see any Volume Control icon or console.. And I get this error message in the Terminal:
    “you need the alsaaudio python module”
    Where do I Get that?
    and/or do I just need to reboot or find the icon somewhere (else)?

  12. Nice Application!
    Use in Fluxbox.

  13. Thank you so much! For some reason, I can not get a volume controller in Xubuntu Jaunty, and this is perfect. Solves many a headache.

  14. Thanks for the info on this. I upgraded to the Karmic beta and the only volume control icon they offer in GNOME depends on PulseAudio, which I don’t use. Wasn’t happy about that.

  15. this is very interesting article. many knowledge to new user.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

